Uganda names 32 for IAAF World Cross Country Champs, Residential Camp switches to Kapchorwa


Uganda Athletics Federation has named a national team of 32 athletes; at both junior and senior levels to represent the country at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships 2017 due at Kololo Independence Ground on March 26, 2017.

The Federation’s technical arm yesterday convened the meeting in Kampala to select the team basing on the performances during the successfully organized weekend   National Cross Country Championships that acted as a pre event for the World event as well hosted at the Kololo ground in Kampala City.

At the same meeting, the National team residential camp was also switched to Kapchorwa from the earlier Bukwo camp that had housed the initial squad of 50 to prepare for the national event. The decision to change the venue was based on proximity to Kampala, athletes’ preferences and management of the team. The technical arm additionally cautioned athletes’ called up to report as soon as they are summoned or else they risk being replaced.

The earlier named technical team of five coaches will continue with their services at the new camp and will continuously evaluate the performance of the team which will culminate into selecting the best six runners in each category to make the final team entry by March 13, 2017 as required by   the International body, IAAF.  According to the IAAF Cross Country competition rules, a participating country is free to enter a maximum team of eight runners per category, however, six start and only four score.  

National Team Selection:

Junior Women

1. Peruth Chemutai

2. Janat Chemusto

3. Esther Chekwemoi

4. Sarah Chelangat

5. Scallett Chemos

6. Adha Mungureya

7. Joy Cheptoek

8. Benna Sukuku


Junior Men

1.  Jacob Kiplimo

2. Titus Kwemoi

3. Victor Kiplangat

4. Elisha Chemutai

5. Kevin Kibet

6. Mathew Chepkurui

7. Abel Chebet

8. Anthony Ayeko


Senior Women

1.  Mercyline Chelangat

2. Rachael Chebet

3. Dorcus Ajok

4. Doreen Chesang

5. Doreen Chemutai

6. Annet Chebet

7. Juliet Chekwel

8. Stella Chesang


Senior Men

1. Joshua Cheptegei Kiprui

2. Phillip Kipyeko

3. Abdallah Mande Kibet

4. Timothy Toroitich

5. Stephen Kiprotich

6. Stephen Kissa

7.  Fred Musobo

8. Mande Bushendich